Date:   Dec 9, 2014


Victoria BC – Last night, Chief Constable Frank Elsner officially swore in Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board co-chair, Victoria Mayor Lisa Helps.

Mayor Helps was sworn in during the public portion of the Police Board meeting at VicPD headquarters.

Mayor Helps was elected Mayor of Victoria on November 15th and assumes the role of co-chair of the Victoria and Esquimalt Police board, along with Esquimalt Mayor Barb Desjardins, as part of her duties as mayor.

The Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board also bid farewell to Joan Kotarski.  Ms. Kotarski is the board’s longest serving board member, having served the maximum of six years.

About Mayor Helps:

Lisa Helps became the 52nd Mayor of Victoria when she was elected on November 15, 2014, and was sworn into office on December 4, 2014. Prior to being elected as Mayor, Lisa served as a Victoria City Councillor for one term, from 2011 to 2014.

Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board Background:

 The role of the Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board is to provide civilian oversight to the activities of the Victoria Police Department, on behalf of the residents of Esquimalt and Victoria. The Police Act gives the Board the authority to:

  •  Establish an independent police department and appoint the chief constable and other constables and employees;
  • Direct and oversee the Department to ensure the enforcement of municipal bylaws, criminal laws and the laws of British Columbia, the maintenance of law and order; and the prevention of crime;
  • Carry out other requirements as specified in the Act and other relevant legislation; and
  • Play a key role in ensuring that the organization carries out its actions and activities in an acceptable manner.

The Board operates under to oversight of the Police Services Division of the BC Ministry of Justice who is responsible for Police Boards and policing in BC. The Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board (Board) is responsible for providing police and law enforcement services for the municipalities of Esquimalt and Victoria.